THE DEGENERATION OF THE HUMAN BODY – IMAGES OF HUNGER IN CHARLOTTE BRONTË’S JANE EYRE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Our paper attempts to draw the connection between representations of hunger in Charlotte Brontë’s novel Jane Eyre and the reality of Victorian times regarding the differentiated consumption of food by members belonging to different social classes. Hunger will be approached as embodying the idea of threat, in relation to all the Victorian social classes. The deeper analysis will try to identify the functions of images of hunger in Victorian fiction, respectively social criticism and realism. Our analysis will rely on textual support provided by Charlotte Brontë’s novel Jane Eyre.


(Română) DE LA RELATION IMAGE/PENSÉE À L’IDENTITÉ DE LA PENSÉE VISUELLE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Antonin Artaud, with his Theatre of Cruelty, proposes a return to the origin of man and culture where it is clear the relationship between life and art. The art and life should not be separated because they form a unit. Artaud explains this unit through the total image of the hieroglyph man: a body that is not longer a human body defined by their physiological functions, but a body ready to become a sign, to become a communicative body at all. The theatre is the place where the hieroglyph man can become a sign and contaminate the public. The spectator is touched …


(Română) HYPOSTASES DU CORPS SUR LA SCENE TARDIVIENNE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

The fact that the theatre is inconceivable in the absence of a stage actor, it’s an indisputable reality till the fifties’ theatre. Responsible of the incarnation of the character, the comedian’s body was sometimes a simple support of the dramatic speech, of the theatrical voice, sometimes place of exhibition or, on the contrary, concealing the flesh. More or less faithful to the stage directions, imitating reality (naturalist drama ) or, on the contrary, stripped of reality to acquire the attributes of a puppet (in the setting of the symbolist stage), the body has always been an area of spectacular work …


(Română) LE CORPS COMME OBJET DE CONSOMMATION : LE TATOUAGE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Tattooing is an art form that has been used for thousands of years everywhere around the world. Mummies dated as far back as the 3rd and the 4th centuries have been found with tattoos on their arms, legs and backs – including the women. In Caesarian myths for example, Bretons were described as being tattooed. Judged to be a pagan ritual, tattooing was ended around the 7th century on religious grounds, thus attributing for the first time a negative connotation. It was only during the fourteenth century that the tattoo re-emerged on the European continent, courtesy of James Cook’s explorations. …


(Română) L’IMAGINAIRE DE LA GREFFE. REPARER LES VIVANTS DE MAYLIS DE KERANGAL, MYGALE DE THIERRY JONQUET, LA PIEL QUE HABITO DE PEDRO ALMODOVAR

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

For occidental cultures, scientific medicine has become, socially and symbolically, famous and renowned. The discipline may be founded on rationality; it also embodies a strong mythical dimension, extensively seen in publicity, literature and arts. According to us, the attention given to technical and scientific (technoscientific) imaginary is one of the major trends characterizing occidental culture. In particular, the transformations to the human body, made easy by consistently evolving techniques, are widely represented by contemporary literature. Nevertheless, these modern representations of medical (surgical) operations refer to cultural and mythical legacy. In this paper, we aim at identifying a part of this …


(Română) IMAGINAIRE(S) DU CORPS DANS LE MONACHISME ORTHODOXE

Posted On Nov 10 2015 by

In this paper, we aim to analyse the discursive marks of some collective imaginations that function with respect to the body, its role, its efforts and its asceticism within Orthodox monasticism. We will refer especially to a book of monastic spirituality written by archimandrite Placide Deseille, entitled Le monachisme orthodoxe (Deseille, 2013); we will try to analyze the lexicon that explains the (discursive) construction and the functioning of a “normative” collective imagination concerning the body, “prescribed” very discreetly by the Fathers of the Church and some monastic authors that wrote about the significance and the role of bodily asceticism in …

(English) THE DEGENERATION OF THE HUMAN BODY – IMAGES OF HUNGER IN CHARLOTTE BRONTË’S JANE EYRE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Din păcate acest articol este disponibil doar în Engleză Americană.


DE LA RELATION IMAGE/PENSÉE À L’IDENTITÉ DE LA PENSÉE VISUELLE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Antonin Artaud, avec son Théâtre de la Cruauté, propose un retour à l’origine de l’homme et de la culture où se trouve le lien entre vie et art. L’art et la vie ne doivent pas être séparés, car ils forment une unité. Artaud explique cette unité à travers l’image totale de l’homme hiéroglyphe : un corps qui n’est plus le corps humain entendu par ses fonctions organiques, mais un corps prêt à devenir signe, à devenir tout communicationnel. Le théâtre est le lieu où l’homme hiéroglyphe peut se transformer en signe et contaminer le public. Le spectateur est touché et bouleversé …


HYPOSTASES DU CORPS SUR LA SCENE TARDIVIENNE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Que le théâtre soit inconcevable en l’absence d’un comédien, c’était une réalité indiscutable jusque dans les années cinquante. Responsable de l’incarnation du personnage, le corps du comédien était tantôt simple support du discours dramatique, de la parole théâtrale, tantôt lieu d’exhibition ou au contraire d’occultation de la chair. Plus ou moins fidèle aux didascalies, mimétisant le réel (théâtre naturaliste) ou par contre dépouillé du vivant pour acquérir les attributs de la marionnette (dans la mise en scène symboliste), le corps a toujours été un espace du travail spectaculaire en lien avec celui portant sur la parole. Eu égard à la …


LE CORPS COMME OBJET DE CONSOMMATION : LE TATOUAGE

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

Le tatouage est un art qui se pratique depuis plusieurs milliers d’années partout dans le monde. Des momies datant du IIIème et du IVème siècle avant J.C. ont été retrouvées, tatouées sur les bras, les jambes et le dos, des femmes d’ailleurs. Les Bretons étaient décrits comme étant tatoués dans les divers récits de conquêtes de Jules César. C’est la religion, autour du VIIème siècle, qui mettra un terme à ces pratiques considérées comme païennes, lui donnant une image si négative qu’elles finiront par disparaître complètement. Ce n’est qu’au XIVème siècle que le tatouage fera de nouveau son apparition sur …


L’IMAGINAIRE DE LA GREFFE. REPARER LES VIVANTS DE MAYLIS DE KERANGAL, MYGALE DE THIERRY JONQUET, LA PIEL QUE HABITO DE PEDRO ALMODOVAR

Posted On Nov 11 2015 by

La médecine scientifique est devenue, dans les cultures occidentales, un domaine fortement valorisé, socialement tout autant que symboliquement. Incarnation revendiquée d’une rationalité solide, elle n’en reste pas moins empreinte d’une dimension mythique qui en modèle ses représentations, par exemple dans la publicité, la littérature ou les arts. Selon nous, cette attention portée à la médecine scientifique révèle l’importance de l’imaginaire scientifique et technique – technoscientifique – dans notre culture. En particulier, les transformations du corps humain, rendues possibles par le développement toujours croissant des nouvelles techniques, hantent les œuvres contemporaines. Néanmoins, les représentations des interventions médicales (chirurgicales) sur le corps …


IMAGINAIRE(S) DU CORPS DANS LE MONACHISME ORTHODOXE

Posted On Nov 10 2015 by

Nous nous proposons d’étudier dans ce travail les marques discursives de quelques imaginaires qui fonctionnent à l’égard du corps, de son rôle, de ses efforts et de son ascèse, dans le monachisme orthodoxe. Nous ferons référence surtout à un livre de spiritualité monastique rédigé par le père archimandrite Placide Deseille, intitulé Le monachisme orthodoxe (Deseille, 2013), en essayant d’analyser le lexique qui rend compte de la construction (discursive) et du fonctionnement d’un imaginaire « normatif » à l’égard du corps, « prescrit » avec beaucoup de discrétion par les Pères de l’Églises et quelques auteurs monastiques s’étant exprimés sur la signification et le rôle …